In Pictures | Cinque Terre 

Cinque Terre translates to five lands and if ever there was a cluster of magical seaside lands that I dreamed of being whisked away to, it would be one of these. Any of them, I’m not fussy which. Each of the five small, seaside villages in Liguria, Italy are undoubtedly beautiful and add a unique rainbow of coloured houses to the rocky, rugged coastline.

One day was all I had in Cinque Terre and I managed to see four of the five multi-coloured villages, my personal favourites being Monterosso, Vernazza and Manarola. My only regret was not spending more time to soak up all the vibes in each village. I was on a tight schedule and had no option but to rush through each village if I wanted to see them all. And I did. I desperately wanted to see them all but in hindsight, I wish I’d slowed down. At least I know for sure that I’d happily return. Next time I’ll spend a few days sailing, hiking and eating my way around each village.

The villages themselves are all similar in their existence; gift shops, gelaterias, seafood restaurants, focaccia bakeries, bars, harbours and all of those bright coloured houses with washing hanging out the windows and chipped-painted walls.

You can opt to hike between the lands along several trails or you can buy a day ticket to ride the train to each one. Depending on how active/lazy you’re feeling, I’m quite sure your views of Cinque Terre will be picture-perfect. I was happy I chose the train so I could walk around each village, feel my surroundings and embrace being there, whereas a few other travelers in my group chose to hike and had amazing views from above and equally amazing photographs.

I didn’t think my photos turned out too shabby either. So here’s the best of the bunch…

Monterosso al Mare.

Love locks in Monterosso.

Vernazza, quite possibly my favourite of the lands but I just can’t decide.

When in Vernazza, eat the focaccia. Lots of it. All the flavours.

Multi-coloured Manarola.

I didn’t lie. They are some very beautiful lands.

While visiting Cinque Terre, I was staying in Rapallo at Hotel San Desiderio, a lovely hotel with friendly owners and an atmosphere that makes you feel like you’re home.

My time in Rapallo and Cinque Terre was short. Before I knew it, we were on the move on again. From the Italian Riviera to the French Riviera…

NEXT STOP: Nice, France.

Follow my journey on Twitter and Instagram: lucytrvl.

 

 

Leave a Reply

