Travel Blogging | Finding the RIGHT time to WRITE (+ Tips)

I wouldn’t say I’ve been demotivated from writing recently, rather just genuinely busy and with a lack of real down time to just do nothing but blog. After all, travel blogging isn’t my full-time job. My full-time job is working as an administrator behind the scenes at a UK theme park and preparing to open for the 2016 season has proved to be a really busy period over the past weeks. Winter here has been long and rough, and as I sit writing this, aching and sweating (apologies for the image) under hundreds of layers and surrounded by tissues, I have the second cold that I’ve had in just 2 WEEKS and I’m FED UP OF IT. Damn you England and your cold climate.

But hey! If anything positive has come from this awful day it is that I am finally picking up my tablet and writing a new post. Juggling a full-time job and blogging (particularly travel blogging when you’re not currently traveling) can be pretty difficult at times. What’s most irritating is when I feel like I have so many creative ideas and then I realise I hardly have any time to put them into action. Believe me I have tried but as I always remind myself, there’s no point trying to write if I’m not in that specific mood. Otherwise my writing will become jibberish and I know nobody wants to read jibberish.

In just over 2 months, I will be leaving home to travel around beautiful parts of Western Europe for 5 weeks and as I’m sure you can imagine, I can hardly wait. I’m going solo for the first time ever and 5 weeks will be the longest I’ve been away from home so it’s quite a big deal to me. I’m aiming to blog about each part of my trip, every place I visit and all of the little details in between to create a real insight that might just help to pass on courage to other travelers waiting for that extra nudge to go on the trip they’re always dreaming about (by the way, that was me for years until I eventually booked a ticket 6 months ago).

So you see, right now my life is in normal mode and I’m working and saving everything that I can to go towards my travels, and all I can do now is be patient and wait for departure day. This is probably another reason why I haven’t found time to write anything recently. My mind has been filled with all kinds of different emotions leading up to my trip and I keep thinking about all the content I’ll be able to write about in 2 months time, but right now I feel like I have nothing!

However, I do believe that writing is like a spillage of all our inner emotions and what good is it to think that every piece of great writing came from somebody who was happy or excited? People who are sad, angry, confused, even emotionless should be included in the most inspirational pieces of writing, because they’re real.

So bearing all of this in mind, I’ve thought of 5 tips, the kind of tips that I’d probably try and tell myself if I could?! And I figure that surely there must be others out there like me! So, bloggers struggling with the dreaded writers block or looking for a little writing pick-me-up, these are for you…

  1. Try not to start a piece, leave it in your drafts and return to it at a later date. I’ve done this too many times, sometimes it’s worked out for me and i’ve published the piece on my blog but other times, I struggle to complete what I started because I’m not in the ‘flow’ anymore. Then I just delete them, because I think they’re not good enough so try your best to finish what you started, at the same time that you started it.
  2. Don’t go off at a tangent. Sometimes I do this and I don’t even realise it until I start reading back and my face starts to scrunch up and I’m like, what the hell am I even talking about now?! So I start hitting the backspace and trying to get back to the point, but wait a second.. I wrote a really good line in that tangent, I need to fit it back in somewhere. You see where I’m going with this? It’s just irritating, keep your focus on point, nobody needs tangents.
  3. Don’t beat yourself up if you don’t feel like you’re accomplishing what you want. Give it time. Everybody gets stuck in writer’s block, everyone loses the motivation at some point but rushing yourself and writing down words that you’re not really feeling won’t mean anything to you or anybody else. They’ll just be words on a page.
  4. Don’t plan too much. Over-planning will inevitably just leave you disappointed. Don’t get me wrong, I like plans, I really do but I’ve learnt that planning too much in advance (like planning blog posts in a specific time-frame) won’t always work out as well you planned, and then what do you have? Self-inflicted sadness.
  5. Don’t degrade yourself by believing what you see on social media. What I mean is, when you’re scrolling through your Twitter and Instagram feeds and feeling like other people are living your dream for you (like those who post a new article every 2 days, gain 1000’s of views and post photos of amazing places around the world that look like pictures torn from travel brochures). Don’t. Just don’t let yourself feel like that. We always struggle to remember that those photos and those amazing stories are just snippets. They are the best parts taken from their experience. Be the person that talks about the real!

If you’d like to follow my European journey this Summer (I promise the writing will get better than this!) then you can find me on Twitter | lucyTRVL and on Instagram | lucy.trvl

2 responses to “Travel Blogging | Finding the RIGHT time to WRITE (+ Tips)

  1. Good tips. I find it easier to create a 2-4 minute video than write a blog post. It’s probably because I’m out and about and it’s easier to get out the camera, point/shoot and then carry on with your day. You become quicker with editing the more comfortable you become with the software. Writing seems to take me forever, and most of the time I just don’t have the motivation to do it after returning from exploring.

  2. This is defnitely nice to read. I’ve had writers block over the past few weeks and haven’t had much time cause I’ve been travelling and working so much. Road trips are hard! Good points though ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

