Vitamin SEA is the cure.

“The sea, once it casts its spell, holds one in its net of wonder forever” – Jacques Cousteau.

I realised on one of my last night’s in Portugal after a rich meal and maybe the result of spending one too many days under the sun that feeling a little sick and weak, I wanted to do one thing that would make me feel better.

In my head all I wanted to do was go to the beach. We walked there nearly every night just in time for sunset, picking up seashells along the way and taking as many photographs as possible. On this night in particular, I wanted to go there with the idea in my mind that the calm nature of the beach and the soothing sea would naturally make me feel brighter in myself.

And you know what? It worked. Maybe what I’m saying is ridiculous and really all I needed was a walk and some fresh air but I honestly believed that being by the sea that evening and watching the tide roll in and out gave me quick relief and made me feel quite refreshed.

I suppose when you’re like me and you don’t live near the ocean so you’re not well acquainted with it, suddenly being so near it everyday while traveling is a luxury. But this year, more than ever before on any of my trips (which included the ocean), I felt a strong liking towards the sea and how it made me feel.

Try it! I don’t know if I’m crazy or not… but the next time you feel a little under the weather when abroad, take a stroll to the nearest beach, kick of your flip-flops, feel the sand between your toes and breathe in the salty sea air. I definitely have a new-found love for the sea after this trip…

I even felt the need to Instagram a photo when I returned home with the holiday blues 😦

image

As always, I’m happy to chat and meet like-minded travellers! Connect with me | Twitter: @lucyTRVL | Instagram: @lucy.trvl

Leave a Reply

