Travels in England: Discovering ‘Devils Punch Bowl’

Travelers always say – particularly when you don’t have the money or time to travel far – to discover new places in your own country instead. Today that is exactly what I did. My friend and I drove out to a place called Hindhead to have a walk around ‘Devils Punch Bowl’ which actually features a natural amphitheatre. It’s essentially a huge, deep natural hole surrounded by nature, woodland and pathways for the public to walk the entire loop if they wish to!

Yesterday we woke up to a thin layer of snow, which had sadly disappeared by noon in my local area. However arriving in Hindhead, it was clear to see that some of the snow there had yet to melt so it made the views look even prettier.

It was nice to explore the English countryside,  it’s something I do very rarely and it just shows that you can still travel in your home country and discover many interesting places if you search hard enough. 

I took some shots but it’s a bit of a shame that it’s not so easy to see just how deep Devils Punch Bowl was by simply looking at these photos. I guess they don’t do it justice but if you’re staying around this area in England, be sure to check it out! It’s a National Trust so there may be a charge for parking/entry and there is a sweet cafe and gift shop by the car park. I’m sure it might be a little more enjoyable if the weather was warmer. My friend and I were absolutely frozen!

image

image

image

image

image

Smiling through the cold!

As always, I’m happy to chat and meet like-minded travellers! Connect with me | Twitter: @lucyTRVL | Instagram: @lucy.trvl

Leave a Reply

