2014 Reflection: First Year as a Travel Blogger

At the start of this year I promised myself that I’d make use of a 2014 diary by writing what I did each and every day. My aim was to look back at it on New Years Eve, as I’m doing right now and remind myself of all the fun times I had throughout the year. 2013 hadn’t been great for me so I was determined to have a better year and I’m very happy to know that I definitely did.

Travel-wise, I saw three countries in Europe this year. I enjoyed a trip to Porec in Croatia, explored Venice in Italy and returned to the always beautiful Paris, France. I saw a lot of London this year as well and learnt to appreciate it even more. I wanted to travel a lot more but was held back due to money issues and free-time due to my new full-time job. I had to learn to prioritise and chose to work a lot of hours but also save up money each month. I will start 2015 with the same money-saving outlook, but honestly I don’t know where the year will take me. I feel like it’s going to be a slightly unstable year but that doesn’t have to have negative meanings. I’ve saved my money so I may as well spend it on what I love – I need to travel. I need to find the right time, the right trip for me and the courage to go ahead and book it. I also need to decide whether I’d like to travel long-term (see many countries over a period of several months -up to a year) or take minimal, cheaper trips to see as many countries as I can throughout the year.

10429319_10152457957004337_5263488005906498461_n (2)Place de Vendome, Paris

 

 

 

 

My personal life has boomed this year. It’s been the best ever for me. I met so many wonderful people, I know everyone says that but I really do mean it. They are some of the best people I’ll ever meet in my life, because they’ve allowed me to be me. I’ve found people I have real things in common with and I’ve built great friendships which I know will last a long time. I’ve shared some great experiences with these friends and can only hope we have many more to come in 2015!

Professionally I have found a field of work that I think would be a very solid foundation for me to progress within. My jobs before this were all about having to work, having to have an income to pay my way through life, having to try and build a career. But now, I actually WANT to work. There is a massive difference. My job now has a lower rate of pay than my previous job. I didn’t care. I needed to try and work somewhere different and somewhere more suited to me and that was all that mattered. I get by each month perfectly well whilst also saving much of my money because I was sensible and I realised a lot of things about money and how to take care of it. I realised before this job, I spent all of my pay checks in a matter of weeks on clothes, jewellery, handbags, things to make my bedroom look pretty. It was all just STUFF. Materialism. So I decided that I didn’t need all of that stuff, I made a plan to change that and I’ve happily stood by it. I never wanted a progression in my last job, this was due to the fact that I didn’t have enough interest and I eventually grew to detest the company I worked for and the management that I was under, I was miserable. Now I’m happy. It just shows how being around the right people, working in the right area and living how you want to live truly reflects positively on you as a person.

10457176_10152457832244337_480992909726355988_n

10385568_10152457963974337_1978883110686260497_n10653548_10152845546104337_5867873343934427811_n

 

 

 

 

 

Finally and most importantly considering what I’m currently doing. My blog. I discovered travel blogging as a prospect in December 2013 and began writing and sharing my photo’s with the world at the start of this year. I combined my addiction of social networking and started up my Twitter account. I had no idea what to expect when I started blogging. I didn’t know there would be such a wide community of travel bloggers and I didn’t know that I’d have the chance to speak to many of them from around the world. I set myself a goal to reach 1000 followers on my Twitter account by the end of the year and I’ve thankfully achieved it. I really didn’t do all that much research before embarking on this travel writing gig and I know I have a lot of improvements to make but I’m very pleased with the success of my blog in it’s first year of action.

When I look back on 2014 and think about how I feel now compared to how I felt the year before and how things have changed for me, I really have to conclude that it’s all thanks to finding a job that I WANTED to wake up for every morning. I can also whole-heartedly say that waking up each morning and wanting to go to work was exactly what I did every working day at my job. Oh yeah, and those amazing people that I mentioned I’d met this year were also all amazing colleagues of mine. So thank goodness for my perfect job and the people and the opportunities that came alongside it. It’s been the best experience of my life so far.

Anyway I understand that this is all very cheesy but I had to jump on the ‘2014 Reflection’ blog band-wagon and once you start writing and looking back on your year, it’s hard not to feel a little bit of emotion and unfortunately, I guess it comes pouring out onto this page. I realise I’m probably – most definitely – rambling now and I’m going to put a stop to this blog, but first I must thank everyone who read any of my posts this year, liked my photographs, shared them among your social networks – it meant a hell of a lot to me. Happy New Year to you all, wherever in the world you may be celebrating! Here’s to many more travels and happy times in 2015 x

View of Paris

Harrods, Knightsbridge

Metro Sign, Paris

As always, I’m happy to chat and meet like-minded travellers! Connect with me | Twitter: @lucyTRVL | Instagram: @lucy.trvl

Leave a Reply

